Concreto y Azul

When I was a child I liked to see in the encyclopedias the great architectural works of Greeks, Romans, Incas, and Egyptians. Without paints on their walls I thought them as strong designs that didn’t need ornaments to justify its presence: until the day I discovered that the vast most of them had coverings in colorful paintings…
Said that, I like to apply colors to my architectural designs, but I need to feel that those colors respond to a function or intention, mostly psychological. Nothing is free in this live, you now.
The building in the photo is creation of a builder. I think there was no architect involved. I loved just like that: with the concrete exposed. When it finished with a cream paint and, of course, windows, it looked so normal; I felt that it lost its raison d’être.

Leave a Reply

