Haunting center

4 thoughts on “Haunting center

    1. I have the pleasure to read them for first time. I think I’d like to have read them at least fifteen years ago, although perhaps I couldn’t understand them as I do today. Thanks Mélanie :-)
      Ronsard, sounds a bit like my name ;-)

      1. it’s never too late to learn something new and you’re very young, FR…;-) Ronsard derives from “ronce” = thorny plant(bush) = arbusto espinoso…:-) in fact, his poem was inspired by the famous Latin expression:”carpe diem!” = live now – this very day! I totally agree with it…:-) btw, my flagship sayings for decades have been:”memento mori, carpe diem et gaudeamus igitur!” – remember you’ll die, live this very day and enjoy it therefore! – and W.E. Henley’s famous lines:

        ‘It matters not how strait the gate,
        How charged with punishments the scroll,
        I am the master of my fate:
        I am the captain of my soul…'(Invictus)
        * * *
        ma traduction ad-hoc: :)
        “peu importe que la porte soit étroite,
        et que mon chemin soit chargé de peines,
        je suis le maître de mon destin:
        je suis le capitaine de mon âme…”

      2. “je suis le capitaine de mon âme”… it sounds to my ears sweeter, in English the sounds, beautiful, have the strong of a revenge, but in your words is more like a serene, but firm, affirmation.
        Today I learnt about the origin of Rosand, latin, and poetry. Thanks for a fruitful dialogue Mélanie. A big hug of chocolate to you in the faraway Toulouse ^_^

Leave a Reply

