Lagunillas Lagoon

An army of clouds toward a little boat

This is a lagoon that actually has no name, Lagunillas in English means “lagoon” so I guess it had once a real name but it’s now forgotten; some politician or governmental technic enemy of imagination choose to put a horrible name to a beautiful place.

It’s in the highway in Santa Lucía District in the highlands of the Peruvian southeast at 4174 metres above sea level (13 694 feet). It’s not a touristic place, I went because I always saw it from the bus and a month ago I thought that would be nice to walk in its shores at least once. This is what I found:

The shores

Blond hair gene

Like a flowing glass

Crystal singing a midday melody

Fossilized Fire

Warrior with white hair

Like a proof that I was there I shot a selfie, hmm perhaps I should get the selfie stick. Sometimes people say me that I look so rigid in my photographs so I tried to be more relaxed, although not so much to be nude, lol.

Season of lines

Lagoon with green scarf

Then I saw a little boat and as my drawings it has no people inside and sadly there was nobody to ask, a meters beyond it there was a pirka (barrier with rocks in the countryside) saying that it was the limit of a private property, what is not a surprise in the highlands with thousands of years in civilizations, everything seems occupied by a town or community.

A little boat alongside a big hill covered by an infinite sky

This boat curiously had written “Germany Const.” so it was even more strange in that place because usually the boats have names of girls. There are activities of fish farming of trout so probably is of some worker.

A river of white light

But there was the barrier so I took one last shot of it and went upside the hill.

Parallel lines

Upside the hill

World of Lagunillas

Upside the hill there is a yellow world of ichu and communities of lacustrine birds. In the highlands the summer is a season of fast changes, in the time I was there for example it was sunny for moments and cloudy in others; previously I had studied the weather in a span of a week and the day I choose was according to forecasts the one with less probabilities of rain. I love rain but in the countryside usually it comes with electrical storms.

A group of ichu seeing the rocks with yearning

Skull Island

Birdy games

I saw an halo, usually they are completely circular so I think it’s first time I see one that is instead an arc.

Messenger (in colors)

Six buddies

I liked the lagoon but not the fact that you cannot walk in several places around it, I like to feel free, not restricted; I shot one last photo and walked to the distant hills. Actually I walked several hours more but that’s for another post.

Blended sky and earth

Saying Good Bye to the unnamed lagoon

Fluffy cloud

If I had to name the lagoon perhaps it could be the Lagoon of Cotton Clouds, for other side it has no name so you can call it with a name of your own inspiration.

Black King

Message in a green circle

Skirt of thorns

And finally black kiss to say bye ;-)

lil’ lips

23 thoughts on “Lagunillas Lagoon

  1. espléndidas y brillantes fotos, FR… mis fotos son bastante “pobrecitas” en calidad…
    * * *
    quién es ese chico bien-parecido(se dice “guapo”, tambien?)… c’est vraiment toi?!…;-)))
    * * *
    @”lagunillas”… me encantan mucho los diminutivos españoles…:-) abrazitos desde Tolosa y hasta luego, Leonito!:-))) Mélanita

    1. Tus fotos son bellísimas y punto :-) I love more your photographs with heart and knowledge in them than the cold photographs of professionals, and I love much more your travels than photography webs ;-)
      That guy in Peru is just a “normal” guy, so in Spanish here they wouldn’t say “guapo” but “normalillo” hehe, thanks :-) I guess I’d be a bit exotic in Europe the same way you are a lady with an exotic beauty to my eyes.
      Hasta luego Mélanita :-), saludos desde el verano peruano!

      1. muchas gracias de todo mi corazon… you’re too nice and kind, FR… a genuine gentleman=un auténtico caballero(?)… lástima que estás tan lejos… me hubiera encantado de conocerte “de verdad”(en vrai)=en la vida real… estoy segura de que tu es un hombre muy interesante – desde cualquier punto de vista… désolée for my Spanish that I haven’t practiced for a while, pero sabes que soy directa y sincera…

      2. A veces el mundo es muy grande… a mi también me gustaría conocerte. Pero estoy feliz de al menos conocerte un poquito ^_^
        Your Spanish is quite good, there are no mistakes when the words are sweet, a smile for you across the continents Mélanie, be happy :-)

  2. A very interesting post with beautiful photos, Francis. It’s like walking with you around the “Amber Lagoon”. Excellent composition and color. Can’t wait for part II. Have a nice day. Reinhold

    1. That is a beautiful name and fits quite well that place. Thanks for the kind compliments, the merit of the colors in part are due to the built-in Zeiss lens, German quality manufactured in Japan. I hope you can have the peace I saw there in your days.
      Nice day for you too Reinhold, greetings, Francis.

  3. This is a lovely place to walk around, and we get to see you too! Beautiful photo’s Francis, amazing to have all that space to yourself. Love the flamingo’s too, wonderful to see them au natural and not in a bird sanctuary.

    1. Yes, perhaps one day I’ll come back to try other roads around it, and it’s not the first time I post shameless photos of me XD, I had put this before with my traditional hat, but it has already some time https://www.flickr.com/photos/12149353@N03/16023993783/in/album-72157650590756689/lightbox/
      I love the flamingos, specially in soup, hehe, just kidding, it seems they see regularly humans because I couldn’t close to them without scary them, I used a telephoto in my film camera but in home the photos turned in a grey mess, the shutter was malfunctioning, grrr!
      Thanks for the compliments rocking lady ;-)

      1. Yes, 24 kilometres approximately accord to google maps but more than hiking just walking around the highway. But I had considered that possibility and I love to walk ;-)

      1. I greet you from the other side of the planet (Romania)! You’re a good photographer and have a wonderful blog. I’ll follow your posts with interest.

      2. Mersi for the compliments. Photography is more a hobby and I happen to have, like you, a good sony to record my memories. I’ll try that my posts can show you this distant part of the world and I’m looking forward to know Romania across your photographs.

Leave a Reply

