Equilibrium

Juliaca city is a city with a population of 250 000 hab. But still to go from one place to another you can take your time and walk calmly. When kid I used to walk the railway as the lady in the photograph, balancing like a circus performer, abstracted in myself. The time I lived in Lima city with its population of almost eight millions instead there was no time to slow down, the time was eaten ravenously by hours in seats of public transport. That’s the life in the big cities.

16 thoughts on “Equilibrium

  1. As a Peruvian, can you distinguish where people are from just looking at their clothing and their hats? I found so many different styles of hats in the Internet. Has every region a different style of hat? Nice image Francis. And it nicely shows that time is ticking slower in smaller cities.

    1. Hello Reinhold. Actually the hats are more or less standard because is a style brought by English engineers in nineteenth century, I can buy one in La Paz (Bolivia) and it’s the same as one bought in any city of Peru. The textiles are the ones that have special characteristics and if I would buy one from Bolivia would look strange in Peru. The textile in the back of the lady is called “aguayo” (pronounced ah-goo-ah-joh) and it’s used to carry babies and merchandise (when I was a baby I can say that it’s the most comfortable to travel)
      I can identify the origin of people for their traditional textiles from the South of Peru and some parts of the center and also if they are from Bolivia. If I could travel more I would recognize the origin of textiles in Argentina, Ecuador, north of Peru and every place the Inca Empire was present, except in Chile where their foreign migration limited the presence of the native culture and replaced by an European culture (there are several German descendants I think)
      The textile in the photograph correspond to the style in Puno region from the highlands, we use a lot of red in the lines. In the Bolivian side instead they use plain black or brown.
      Thanks for your visit Reinhold, hoping all’s right and better, Francis.

      1. Thanks for your information, Francis. Very interesting. It is getting better every day. Little steps, but into the right direction. Greetings, Reinhold

    1. Are there similar hats in UK? Those hats were used here after Englishmen bring the fashion when they build the trains. Or perhaps we saved that part of your past :-)

      1. They are not as popular as they used to be, and mostly worn by gentlemen business men in London, can’t remember the last time I saw anyone in a bowler, they look better on Peruvian ladies anyway :)

  2. It’s funny that you mention small-town living in Peru. Just last night I was walking around Pimentel, entertaining myself by inventing witticisms about how small this town is. For example – This town is so small, I tripped over two dogs on my way to the market…and I was walking in the street :) All the best from Northern Peru!

    1. haha, two sleeping dogs? XD, I bet you haven’t see a country with more stray dogs. In the coast the time is I think even slower due the heat and the people resting at midday, but that’s an impression, I still cannot go beyond Lima to the north (although once I went to Caral) Thanks Melissa, all the best too from the Southern Peru ^_^

      1. Yes, two sleeping dogs! I just reread your post, however, and I realize that Juliaca is not such a small town, and I was a bit off the mark with my comment. I just felt the need to share it with someone…. can I ask why you don’t go north of Lima?

      2. Well, yes, it’s a middle size city in Peru but great part but in several sectors it still works like a town, don’t worry ;-)
        Usually my clients live in Tacna, Puno, Arequipa or Lima and I mostly travel for work. I’m going to save to travel to the north, I’d love to be in Trujillo and to go to the tropical beaches of Máncora; see the maritime towns and cities and travel even farther to Cuenca in Ecuador taking advantage of the cheap bus tickets.
        Well, for now those places are just dreams but I have your beautiful essays and photographs about the north I don’t know, so a big thanks Melissa :-)

  3. Juliaca is a beautiful and exotic city, for me (Cristo Blanco, Catedral De Sta Catalina, Universidad Andina…)! How are called “Bugs” blue-white with three wheels? You are neighbor with famous Lake Titicaca. There are some traditional fishing boats very interesting. Do you have pictures of this boats? Can you give me your e-mail, for photo exchange?

    1. Thanks for the compliment :-) although to say the truth it’s not so beautiful, several parts aren’t cared by the citizens so we have a lot of work to make it a better city (we’re perhaps one thousand years of Brașov) . The bus is called “triciclo”, what means threecycle, and there are a lot because it was the best transport to move merchandise and after a time they were converted to transport people too.
      Oh, the traditional fishing boats probably are in Puno, because Juliaca is near lake Titicaca but not so much. We have a laggon but the boats are the common, I posted them here https://guaromekano.wordpress.com/2014/09/15/uros-artificial-islands-in-lake-titicaca/
      The internet is a bit slow and my e-mail is more for customers of my work so I put my photos bit by bit here https://www.flickr.com/photos/12149353@N03/sets
      Thanks for your interest :-)

Leave a Reply

