Bus to the sun

Great part of my photographs are shot in buses. Mostly from a district to another; regularly from a city to another one, a few times from one country to another.

This is one local to go in the same city. The buses are quite informal in their service so then can be cheap. A ride just go for 35 cents of dollar and foreigners say that it’s quite different to another countries where they have a higher cost, and are more organized. Once I went to Chile and certainly that was different, the driver gave even tickets and the speed was so slow and it just stopped in signaled places. I understand that’s the usual and our country is in that aspect a chaotic experience.

6 thoughts on “Bus to the sun

  1. Buses in Germany are quiet expensive. For a return ticket from Wiefelstede (where I live) to Oldenburg (next major city) you have to pay nearly 5 €. They run according to a schedule from/to fixed places at fixed times. In this case an hourly frequency. They are modern and fast. Inside the cities 30mph, outside 50-60mph. It’s hard to take photos because the windows are colored (sun protection) and sometimes they have transparent adverts on the windows which you could see from the outside and the shade from the inside. Not good for landscape photography. If you missed one station, you have to stay on the bus until the next one. They have no permission to stop to have people enter or exit anywhere else. I could continue for hours on rules and regulations for buses. There are local, city to city, German wide and international busses. There are schedules in the station, in their internet. We have apps for our smart phones showing the next bus. LOL. Sometimes I just want to wait for the next bus and take some photos on my journey. Looking forward to your next “bus photos”, Francis.

    1. Here is quite funny but in reverse, you can stop the bus in any place of the street, even in the middle taking advantage of the read light. 5 € can bought a ticket to approximately 350 kilometres among cities. But it has a price, the culture is much more expensive than Europe, the fees to enter museums or libraries are high to our cost of live and thin books can cost like 20 € and the ones interesting beyond that. They’re so expensive that to me is much, but much, convenient to buy them from US Amazon and receive them to my door, the books I want there are almost a gift because they can cost a fifth of the prices here.
      I’m not surprised, to us Germany is the country of the order, high education and civilization, and now I’d add of talented artists :-)

  2. I can’t remember the last time I went on a bus so have no idea what journeys cost here, but we do have scheduled times I’m sure. I do know that once I reach pension age I can apply for free bus travel, at the minute I would have to be 67yrs old, so a little way to go yet :) but I am planning on a bus trip each week to photograph all the cathedrals of the UK :)
    I like your description of a chaotic bus service, I would like that :)

    1. I know you would enjoy it, it’s quite fun XD. Once I went in a bus whose motor was so bad that if it stopped then it wouldn’t turn on again. So instead to stop the passengers had to jump the car so the driver every time had to reduce the velocity to the slowest possible. It was quite funny because like in the movie Speed with Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock the driver was nervous to don’t stop and he was to calculate to doesn’t get stuck in red lights XD.
      I love the gothic style, and I’ll love to see what your eye and your Terminator X-T1, I mean Fujifilm, can do together :-)

    1. Thanks Caroline :-) I’m glad you enjoy to be a virtual passenger of the image. I’m having an interesting time in your space, feeling the dynamic mood of your photographs, the change of seasons, and the melody of your language.

Leave a Reply

