Yanahuara – Main square of volcanic ashlar

Ashlars arches tinted of orange morning painting the floor with shadows

After my travel to Ilo in exchange of a favor I had to verify data in return in the Yanahuara’s City Hall. It’s a district in Arequipa city. I don’t like so much the sun of the morning in the desert, nor to make bureaucratic requests. But I had to go there so I took some pics of the plaza in the morning.

Council of palm trees judging red man

I imagine the high council condemned to the red man to a wooden jail. Yanahuara is a residential district whose history spans to pre-Hispanic times. National tourists like to get some photos in the Gazebo because it looks colonial but actually was made in the seventies XP

Energy in wood

Tables of light

I saw a nice sculpture, but there is no reference to the sculptor. A search in internet doesn’t reveal nothing neither.

Under the crust

Seeing the people run

The artist made a great work in my opinion. There was a big tree next to the church so I shot it and also I get some details of the colonial, in this case indeed it’s from 1750, church San Juan Bautista.

A tower white and another green

Eternal twins

Light touching the white stone

Volcanic fire

Tree praying to a blue temple

A tree growing. It makes me think in Odin, a god sacrificing to himself…

Palm army prepared to conquest the world

Sequence in vermillion

And that was all. I went to fulfill a promise and everything finished well. Time to fly before the midday sun in the white blinding stone.

Arrangement of colors and a closed door

20 thoughts on “Yanahuara – Main square of volcanic ashlar

    1. Thanks, the design is just a free template. It’s called The Tonal Theme. About your blog it seems that it’s for selling books and it looks nice too. Sorry for the time but the system classified your comments as spam. It use to happens when there are links or certain words to promote. Thanks for your understanding.

    1. That made me remember to Le Corbusier “Architecture is the (,,,) play of masses brought together in light” Although, according to the photographs I saw about his oeuvre, I’m not much a fan of him. Thanks Salva.

      1. As every body, but I’m not fan not because I think he’s not a genius, but simply his architecture was logical in the crowded European cities after second war but here in the unpopulated South America with people that loves colors and dances has not much sense, not without changing his principles at least.

  1. Wow! Even in the morning sun, Arequipa looks completely white washed. Es bueno saberlo.
    What is the man in red being judged for?
    My favorite photo by far is “Energy in Wood” – XD It reminds me of a character called Buckwheat in “The Little Rascals”.

    1. The watchers didn’t allow me to be closer to the judgment, perhaps he drew a heart in a palm :D Yes, it’s so white, sometimes I’d like glasses to tone down the light B-)
      I saw the color movie and it was quite funny! The author of the tree “haircut” is the City Hall, sure they saw too the old ones in black and white XD
      Thanks Melissa :-)

  2. Which type of glasses is your camera wearing? The shadows in your photos are not that harsh I thought they had to be in that bright sun. A wonderful journey through architecture and imbedded nature. Thanks for sharing, Francis.

    1. Thanks Reinhold. The shadows are more gentle because I went more or less 9 am in the morning and additionally I expose for the shadows :-) For example I overexposed the tree in camera 1 ev to avoid a silhouette. Thanks Reinhold for the words, glad you like the plaza of Yanahuara.

    1. Yes, it’s. I’m going to continue the research of the author. I liked it so much because it gives a relaxed atmosphere to the formal ashlar buildings.

  3. This time, my favorite is the tree praying to a blue temple… and my second favorite is the energy in wood… both make me wish I were there. I would hug those trees.

    1. Hi Caroline :-) I love trees too, and more when they are really old because more than trees they turn in separate words where you can explore climbing them. A hug would be a nice gesture.

Leave a Reply

