A wooden dragon traveling the ocean at sunrise

I use several types of cameras, mainly my digital camera, a Sony R1, and after it my cell phone, my tablet and a film camera. Mostly I have to prepare the files because a camera never is going to match what your eyes see, that’s a secret inscrutable to the pre-programmed mechanism of any camera.

I need time to prepare my files, the ones that take me more time are the film ones because I “scan” them with my camera with a special holder I designed and after that process the negatives in a special program, after those photographs the ones from my Sony take also time but because I shot in a certain abundance with it. The photographs I require less time to prepare are the ones with the tablet and cell phone. I can make easy edits with the snapseed app and voilà: ready to publish!

This photo was made the sixth of this month in Ilo, in the harbor in the morning seeing the Pacific Ocean. Before to work I used to go to the place where fishermen have to eat, good prices and fresh fish, but not to eat there but to take my food to the ocean and have a moment of peace there. The battery of my camera was at zero so my old cell phone with its two megapixels and its toy camera was enough to have a memento to share with you, and faster.

16 thoughts on “A wooden dragon traveling the ocean at sunrise

    1. Thank you :-)!!! the atmosphere was amazing that sunrise, but the blur is due to the lens of the cell phone, probably dirt or perhaps old, but it gave to the scene a nice effect :D Greetings!

  1. It’s interesting that photographers seem to hold high-resolution cameras in such high regard. I say this because some of my favorite photos that you’ve taken have this graininess to them that remind me of paintings done by impressionists. I think this photo would have been better with a bit more contrast in color, but I like the overall dream-like quality of it.
    Have a great evening :)

    1. I suspect in part is the freedom you have with a cell phone. With my bigger camera I could needed a tripod, my filters, time to prepare them… with the cell phone it was just to see something nice and shot it. Also I think we don’t have high resolution eyes so the grainy texture of the noise in this cameras can look more human that the files from big beasts :-)
      A honor to be compared to impressionists, I’d love to have images like Turner’s paintings :D I agree with you about the contrast in color, I tried to do it but, as the file is quite low resolution, adding more saturation ended with an unrealistic rendering. But al least I have something to share with you and I’m happy for that, precisely today I was thinking how we could go to Ilo city :-)
      Thank you, Melissa. Great evening for you too in the American summer night ;-)

      1. It’s true…my eyes certainly don’t see in high resolution. In fact, I often see lightening flashes and ghost images in my eyes…none of which show up in the images taken by my G-16.
        I would love to go to Ilo City with you some day :) We would have a great time together!
        Besos y abrazos :-)

      2. The future is an open place for dreams… to rest in the park with view to the sea, to eat really fresh fish, to find a place to hide in middle of the garden of rocks in the shores :-) I know with the time if that is your wish what you see is going to match what your camera registers.
        Besos y abrazos cariñosos (>^_^)>

      3. :-)))))
        About the “(>^_^)>”if you see the “>” as arms then it is a happy person hugging you :-)
        If your system is incompatible probably you are seeing a “&gt” in that case still it’s a hug, a special one ;-)

Leave a Reply

