Emptiness (and lessons of French in bakeries)

This is a treasure I found in the shores of Ilo city. Walking… I love the stones of colors, and the little details, but I didn’t see pearls :P

Lessons of French

Once I entered to the bakery and I asked for two soles of bread, I said: “Good afternoon, give me please two soles of cachitos” the Sol is our currency in Peru and cachito means “lil horn” it´s an affective way to call a kind of common bread we have in the shape of little bull horns; then the lady in the shop said almost yelling “Nooooooo! these are croissants!!!!! haha, the people insist in call them cachitos!”

One day the girlfriend of my older brother saw me after they broke to give me some documents. She always treated me with a subtle aggresiveness, and I think she did well, I hardly give trust to somebody I don’t know. But that afternoon she was quite polite and invited me to a bakery. So I asked for the Mousse of chocolate but in a badly way because I pronounced “Please, give me a mouse of chocolate” nevertheless the waiter understood and she said: “whaaaat! Did you just asked for a mouse in English?” so, to save the honor, I said… “of course, I want a little mouse made of chocolate and I don’t expect anything else to try!…”

25 thoughts on “Emptiness (and lessons of French in bakeries)

    1. The inmigrants to our country have contributed with so many names to our already rich gastronomy, so there are French, Italian, Japanese, Indian,Chinese, Arabian (due to their presence in Spanish) and other languages… I think there is no much from Germany, despite the big population of Germans ancestors in our country, and certainly there is almost nothing from UK (but well, they have so many contributions that it’s understable that they hadn’t time for elaborated food, as I discovered seeing a UK TV documental about their food)
      Greetings,
      Francis.

      1. German gastronomy is also influenced by many different immigrants. The original German gastronomy is down-home and hearty. The most important part of German meals are the potatoes. But today the German like more and more the mediterranean way of cooking. People do not work as hard as they did years before.
        Abroad the German bread and cheese is very favored. I believe that your gastronomy isn’t influenced by the Germans. I think most of German emigrants are in the north of America, in Australia, Canada and in other European countries. Some Germans are working in the south of America several times a year but I think the Germans are very affiliated with their homeland. We like to travel and we like to be at home, so we are ;-)
        Be glad that your cuisine isn’t influenced by England ;-)
        The English cuisine has never been particularly good. Today she is a little better, probably because of the immigrants. But in England there was always a good Indian cuisine.
        Have a good meal, Francis :-)
        Best wishes,
        Ulli

      2. Oh! so we have a link to German culture after all, potatoes (we call them papas) were domesticated in our country thousands of years ago and we developed (as genetics was an obsession) thousands of varieties to adapt from the lands along the sea, across the high mountains and the jungles in the borders of the empire.
        I think the previous generations in your country suffered the wars and the overpopulation so that could be a reason they were so hard working, certainly the German industry proves you are still hard working but in this new world it seems after the end of the millenium things were less optimistic.
        Actually the family with German ancestors in my city have the finest production of cheese. I say German ancestors and not German family because they’re totally Peruvian in culture (they make varieties as Goldstein cheese but mostly they make our varieties as Paria) , I remember other German family but they arrived because a religious mission and well… they still fight the culture to introduce their beliefs so they can be a bit bitter sometimes, but every group (German, Italians, Jews, US citizens, Chinese, Japanese, etcetera) ends being Peruvians and adopt the culture, the only exception seems to be some Arabians in the south.
        In south America the biggest number of Germans went, if I’m not wrong, to Argentina, Brazil and Chile. But in our country the number is not low.
        In the TV show from a channel called UK Today I remember they said their symbol was a cone of paper with fried fish and (our) potatoes. I wondered how a country that ruled so many places directly or with their economic branches couldn’t have enriched that part of their culture.
        Thank you Ulli, I hope you are having today a great bread and cheese ^^
        Best wishes from far away,
        Francis.

      3. Yes, it’s a strong link. The German potato comes from South America, maybe Peru. In the 16th century the Spanish brought the papas to Germany :-)
        Yes, the national dish of the English is fish and chips. Today they use plates and cutlery, previously they ate the fish wrapped in newspaper, what was very greasy :-)
        It’s great that every group ends being Peruvian, this is successful integration. We can’t say the same in Germany. Here are to many different cultures and religions.
        For breakfast I had great bread and cheese, now I had fish :-)
        Have a nice Sunday, Francis – here it is already dark since more than one hour.
        Greetings,
        Ulli

  1. The pearls are your photos my friend :)
    I enjoyed your charming, self-deprecating tale. I especially love the phrase “subtle aggressiveness”. I’m going to use that one.
    I have a similar story about purchasing a pastry at a bakery in Chiclayo. I only knew the french name for it (palmier), but this didn’t translate. It’s a crispy, sweet flat pastry that’s curved into a heart or ear shape. In fact, I think that the clerk in the bakery called it an oreja…
    Just wanted to share :) Have a great evening!

    1. Ah, I love orejas XD! they are quite tasty. Honestly I don’t know the names of the deserts and pastries, I simply point my finger and say “please give me that” D:
      Great evening for you too, Melissa :-)

Leave a Reply

