The green army resting

The promise of a sea beyond the desert.

35 thoughts on “The green army resting

  1. These kind of ecological patterns are always a mystery to me. How can anything close to a waterbody not have more flora and fauna? I know, the salt etc. However, there is also condensate, atmospheric moisture and probably lot more humidity, so how does nothing grow?
    Never mind… nice mysterious photo :D

    1. You would be even more surprised if you consider it’s near the equator, Tejaswi. Actually this is in the Atacama desert zone (from the Chilean north to the Peruvian south) and it’s in big part due to the Humboldt stream from the Antarctic sea, more data is here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atacama_Desert
      In the Peruvian north instead we have forests that go even inside the sea in the Tumbes mangroves http://www.in-peru.travel/tumbes-mangroves/
      That would be a partial explanation, I’m sure there is more to discover.
      The place is a sanctuary from a lost civilization.

  2. I wonder at times if such arid zones could somehow be turned green and would it be worth it at all. I have realized quite early in life that human intervention and added greenery mean nothing. The only thing we could possibly do sensibly is reduce our intervention.
    For example, our stupid governments here come up with reforestation and afforestation programs which are not just ridiculous but completely harmful. The trees they choose are not indigenous and certainly don’t provide anything to the local fauna or to the humans, just fast growing greenery that is completely worthless. They chopped off old trees that had grown for hundreds of years, the slow growing ones which supported not just wildlife but also humans and then imported these nasty weeds from Africa and S. America just because they were fast growing. My blood boils when I see forests of Acacia all over the region now or the Mayflower or such trees. No good for timber, no good for birds and certainly not like the dense forests, more like stupid gardens.

    So, (after that long rant haha) I would not be comfortable with the idea of greenification of deserts. Even this one, in a beautiful land. Those people who talk of “intelligent design” must see that this is the true form of nature, that it is logical and with some purpose, because if nothing grows there it must mean there is a reason for it and a balance to it. If we forcibly introduce flora and fauna there, might it not be playing with nature and the results might be even more unpredictable and worse? But with depleting resources and greenery, I suppose it would be worth it to try something. People are talking of growing plants on Mars. Well, hello? Could we try that on earth first, perhaps? Before mining asteroids and settling humans in space colonies, I think it would be worth to explore the chance of saving this miserable planet, that they turned it into, in the first place :)

    1. That’s a controversial project for sure. And I understand you, when kid I liked the eucalyptus trees in Cuzco until I learned that they, coming from Australia, are evil sponges that take great ammounts of water.
      In the Peruvian deserts there are agricultural projects to take advantage of the permanent sun, so with water from the mountains the desert can be used to grew vast fields. It’s economical because the highlands have a very difficult topography so it adds costs to products we want to export. Personally I think more or less an idea similar to the greeks in reference to cities: it should be studied a mathematical point of no return for interventions in ecological systems, so it should be regulated population and resources in the coast, highlands, and jungles of Peru. But that’s an utopia, the vitality of Peru is in its informal way of life… It seems there is not an easy solution.

      1. :) true.. and yes, here too those eucalyptus trees were used.
        btw, one of these days I’ll probably misuse this friendship to ask you a professional question on structural integrity of a design I have in mind.. or even for help with designing :D

      2. Thanks, Francis… it is primitive.. I want to do more with it.. any suggestion would be accepted gratefully.. The other design was with straw roofs.. would be deucedly odd for a software/animation studio haha… but interconnected hexagons instead of rounded squares (This geometrical thing is quite an obsession with me, I realize… even my house is full of straight lines, no curves at all. And I got rid of the hexagon pattern because a lot of space got wasted at the corners and it kills me to see a non-functional space in any construction).
        If you have other topologies, Francis, would you please help me with ideas? Just outside boundaries, not much more than that, just bare designs :)
        Thanks, Francis… I was beginning to think it was a foolish idea..

      3. Straw roofs are beautiful, and with technology they can be quite efficent, they are cheaper (in my country) but require replacement every three or five years.
        I thought once in hexagons, my idea was to take advantage of the corners as conducts for the supplies of water, electricity, electronic, data, duct vents, storage, and everything intended to service.
        I’m going to send you some ideas.
        There is no foolish ideas, in any case I hope mine can be useful to you :)

      4. I know.. I am so amazed.. just replied to your mail :D
        Yes, the straw idea is worth it, but then it disintegrates with time. We have reeds here that are like cane or thin bamboo, they last a little longer I suppose.. but that is just wishful thinking. Nowadays even the source of those is disappearing. No more cane fields or reeds in the wild or bamboo even..

        Hexagons will not work well because if you remember, the concept behind making pencils the way they are… smaller area to conserve wood.. so the internal space is actually very much reduced.. looks beautiful, exotic, but very small areas. The corners will have to be dealt with in wasteful forms.. like sharp angled closets or ducts.. the larger the floor area, the greater the wastage.. I somehow feel guilty doing that.. No space to be wasted..
        I saw your ideas.. and I am utterly shocked, completely bewildered.. my blood and yours must match hahahaha… ok, maybe we are two misfits in two different countries, or just geniuses hahahaha…

        Thank you, Francis, you have been most helpful and as a friend, it has been a revelation as well.

      5. Quite honored for your words, Tejaswi :) you are right, hexagons work for mass, not for space.
        In any case my work is to get the design according to your requirements… if it get quite good is because it is your idea, and in your case it’s even more your idea because you designed it with 3D

      6. nah Francis, just a rough sketch in 3d to show you… never mind.. it could be better… you are an artist and you must know that designs can be bettered every single moment and day :)
        I like hexagons and their interactive ways with other hexagons.. shared walls etc.. however, same problem – unused spaces.. and nothing much you can place in the angled areas… not what you would call money’s worth hahaha….
        never mind the money, it would still make me slightly uneasy :D
        That said, hexagons are the most elegant forms.. shapes that define something. I love the concept actually.. there is nothing that comes close to that perfection… except maybe pyramids, which require to be as exact.. and yet, it hurts me to see the space unused like that… the most beautiful orderly designs would be hexagons… not squares because they get too monotonous and boring.. any more than 6 it gets confusing.. hexagons are perfect.. and yet.. I have my inhibitions…

    1. Dziekuje :) It’s near the Peruvian city of Ilo in the south. It is in a sanctuary of an ancient culture long ago extinct. In this part of the coast the desert is the landscape…

  3. I just finished reading your comments with Tejaswi….sorry to eavesdrop, but I found it fascinating :)
    It’s so interesting that there are cacti down south in Ilo, but I don’t remember seeing any up north in Chiclayo.
    Have a great day :) Abrazos y besos!

    1. It’s a pleasure to read your comments so eavesdropping are welcome ;-)
      Chiclayo is subtropical :-) instead the south until Lima is more desertic except in river mouths, it’s like to cross to another country.
      Thank you, Melissa. Hoping you are having a great day too! ^^

Leave a Reply

