A morning sunbath

These balconies are oriented to the East, so they receive sun in the morning. This place makes me think would make a nice painting with a theme similar to the ones so cherished by Hopper. I admire him so much… perhaps I was drew to this place precisely because made me evoke his art…

***

Estos balcones está orientados hacia el este, de tal manera que reciben sol por las mañanas. Este lugar me hace pensar que sería una pintura agradable con un tema similar a los que era tan afecto Hopper. Lo admiro tanto… tal vez me sentí atraído a este lugar precisamente porque me hizo evocar su arte…

28 thoughts on “A morning sunbath

  1. Nice picture, Francis. But you should have also mentioned that it made sense to have it facing east, because of the heating issues. No one pays attention to that in architecture or civil engineering anymore, reducing heating/AC bills etc.. too bad :)

    1. Actually I thought about it, Tejaswi. But the orientation was determinated first for the urban distribution of blocks, that in this case allowed the orientation to the east getting a better distribution in relation to the Sun. Also I can say that the shape of the roof is to get relieve in the desert of the heat, there are windows in the top in every extreme so when opened the heat can circulate and reduce the heat inside. In our country the lack of technology has determined the use of pasive technics but I can say you that professionally I work the integration of my buildings with the environment. Considering of course the economy of the client but mainly the comfort of the people that is going to use the building.

      1. Wonderful, Francis. I was quite sure that you would always think of that first.
        Another odd thing if you notice.. in most cities around the world, communities/colonies/sectors are divided along the East-West lines.. except, funnily enough, another observation is also true, the South section of any city is affluent and always influential and posh. It is the reverse (and does not make sense either) with the case of city divisions. East and West are two sectors that always make one sector poor and the other rich. Usually the East is poor. Why? I have no idea.

        South-North is for large regions, South is always more posh. I don’t know if this works everywhere round the world, but I was always fascinated by this counter-intuitive question why the west was always desirable or the south always became elite.. it does not make sense, and yet it happens in most cities round the world, when it should have been the other way round.

      2. In Peru usually the richest cities are in the coast in the West, in part because it’s flat and easier to build highways, etcetera. But also they are more westerners (I am not) before Spaniards the center of power was in the highlands in the East. Usually the places inside a city where the sectors are wealthier are the ones with control of the resources. It seems it’s more a question about the cultural traditions of the cities. For example in USA the rich people lives outside and the poors in the centers of the cities; instead in the countries where Spain had influence and colonies poor people lives outside the city and rich groups in the center of it. In my city in Peru the sectors with Aymara population are richer than the Qhechua sectors but crossing to Bolivia the Quechua sectors are richer than the Aymara sectors.
        So although I just studied urbanism as a complement to architecture in my opinion the location of wealthy sectors depends mainly from the cultural component as a city is shaped. A city in a traditional muslim culture is different to a nordic or a Peruvian one. Our native cities perhaps are similar, to cite a relatively closer example to you, to Mohenjo-Daro. Where the street is more an outside-place than a public place.

      3. Well said. I appreciate the thought you have put into this, Francis.
        Let me give you two examples from my own country – Bombay and Delhi, the financial capital and national capital of India respectively. South Bombay is filled with Billionaires, the North is usually immigrants and larger masses of human beings. But Bombay used to be an island, so not sure if that mattered. (Actually seven little islands that got filled in and became one large city). The same with Delhi. There seemed to be a shift towards the South later. Now that South is extremely posh.

        Yes, you may be right about resources in most other places. But in these two cases, it just does not make sense. With the exception of Bombay having its early colonial bases in the South and its ports. Yes, in that sense, better resources I suppose. But in Delhi it does not make sense at all.

        So maybe you are right, the cultural component is the most important aspect of the settlements.

        However, I am a little confused about your Mohenjo-daro reference. To my mind, and from what I have read so far, the city was probably a public space completely. For example, public baths, like the Roman ones.. Or more probably it was a collective effort, in the sense that people were assumed to own every part of the city and care for it just as much as their private property (if there was such). I speak with a little more confidence on this issue because a few months ago I was planning to write a series of short stories and the first story was based in the Indus Valley, so I had refreshed my reading of the various essays and theses on the subject. :) But what confuses me is your interpretation.. and it ends up making me ask if I am wrong… Yes, it does ask a question, is it a public space or an exterior space that is commonly owned. The difference is, the public space claims no ownership, while the external space means they all have a stake in it and no outsider would be allowed to defile it etc. Surprising question and I am completely stunned. I never thought of it before. Not just in this case, but in general as well. Who owns our public spaces? etc
        Thanks for the thought-provoking answer, Francis. I really appreciate it.

      4. Thank you, Tejaswi. I read about Mojenho-Daro in a book written in XIX century, and some years ago. Now I am reading again data in Wikipedia and it seems I am completely wrong.
        In any case Spaniards didn’t understand how our cities worked (as they had problems to understand Muslim cities in Spain) But in our case our cities were like blocks with internal life. The streets mor than public spaces to circulation were just the outside of these blocks, with the infraestructure of water and others. The plazas were different also with monuments build inside them to show people of power…
        I need to read more about Mohenjo-Daro. Thanks Tejaswi and sorry for the misleading data. :S

      5. No, no, Francis, it is a very valid question and I had never thought of it in terms of public spaces. Like you, I shall have to relook the data available and try and understand what it really means.
        Thank you for raising the question, it makes me think again. You should never be apologetic for asking questions, no one should be penalized (as you know from my recent posts haha)… You are absolutely right in asking.. and it put me under doubt and that is the way it should be..
        I am concerned about the way we interpret history too. So I need to study more also. We are both students, Francis, and that sets us apart from the rest of most of the world. Be proud, my friend, that we intend to learn even now.. :)

      6. I agree Tejaswi, my regret and reason to apologize was just for had write without reviewing my source. Certainly if the comment was meant to another person he/she could accepted it and had a wrong data. Asking questions is quite valuable, giving wrong answers not.
        Thank you, Tejaswi. Kind regards. : )

  2. I agree with you and would like to see how Hopper would paint that scenerio. I think he would hike the suspense with some people …
    Have a nice day, Francis
    Ulli

    1. Julie! Nice to see you. n.n
      You are right. In our hemispehre the Sun have an inclination towards North so in your home and in my home despite the distance the rule in homes is the same: bedrooms to receive the sun from the east to wake up and warm them in the morning, social spaces as the living room towards the North, spaces used in the afternoon toward the West and kitchens, bathrooms and other service spaces that doesn’t need Sun but illumination and mainly ventillation towards the South. It depends so much of the space, but you are right, if the home had a linear shape it would be mainly oriented to the North.
      Thank you so much for your visit. ^-^

Leave a Reply

